Showing posts with label Preview. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Preview. Show all posts

Monday, 13 September 2021

Preview - The Snowman Tour 2021 Returns to Chester Cathedral this December!

Every September we begin to look forward to Christmas and start to plan which attractions and shows we would like to attend. My children definitely have their firm favourites and my youngest son Riley always has The Snowman Tour at the top of his list. 

Like many families we really missed being able to enjoy our usual Christmas experiences last year, so we are definitely making up for it this year and we cannot wait to make some magical memories together. I am therefore delighted to share the news that The Snowman Including We're Going on a Bear Hunt will be visiting Chester Cathedral this December as part of their fabulous tour.

© Snowman Enterprises Limited / © Bear Hunt Films Limited MMXVI


The Snowman Including We're Going on a Bear Hunt

Make it a Christmas to remember, with a special screening of family favourite The Snowman accompanied by a magnificent live orchestra. Immerse yourself in this magical award-winning concert, set within the splendour of Chester Cathedral. 

Alongside The Snowman, enjoy We're Going on a Bear Hunt based on the best selling book by Michael Rosen with music by Stuart Hancock. With exquisite hand-drawn animation by Lupus Films - the team behind The Snowman and The Snowdog - We're Going on a Bear Hunt is suitable for all ages, and is guaranteed to enchant with its story of perserverance, optimism and love of nature.

Suitable for the whole family to enjoy together, it's the perfect way to start your Christmas celebrations, and is sure to create memories to cherish.

These concerts often sell out, so book soon to avoid missing out on this extraordinary event.


The Snowman Tour Including We're Going on a Bear Hunt, will be at Chester Cathedral on the 18th December 2021 at 1:45pm, 4pm and 6:30pm. Ticket prices start from £12 and can be purchased on the Chester Cathedral website here.

Don't worry if Chester Cathedral is a little too far for you to visit, as this magical experience is also visiting Buxton, Coventry, Derby, Durham, Liverpool and Winchester.

© Bear Hunt Films Limited MMXVI
We're Going on a Bear Hunt is a Lupus Films production in association with Bear Hunt Films and Walker Productions for Channel 4, Universal Pictures and Herrick Entertainment with the support of Creative Europe - MEDIA programme of the European Union.


Alternatively you can catch The Snowman including The Bear and the Piano at Cardiff and York or The Snowman including The Nutcracker at Salisbury.

The full list of tour dates can be found here - https://www.carrotproductions.com/snowman

If you would like to find out more about The Snowman Tour 2021 or about Carrot Productions, then you can visit their website or social media pages on the following channels:

Website - https://www.carrotproductions.com/

Facebook - facebook.com/carrotproductions

Twitter - @CarrotProd

Instagram - @carrot_productions

YouTube - CarrotProductions


© Gareth Widdowson

*Disclaimer - Details provided in this post are believed to be correct at the time of writing but can be subject to change. I would therefore always recommend visiting the productions own website in order to obtain the most up to date information.


Sunday, 8 September 2019

Dates for your Diary - Sleeping Beauty Pantomime at St Helens Theatre Royal this October

For those of you who can't quite wait until Christmas to get your panto fix, then fear not, as St Helens Theatre Royal are putting on the spellbinding Sleeping Beauty this October Half Term and have recently revealed its stellar cast.

Regal Entertainments will present Sleeping Beauty at the theatre from Saturday 19th October to Tuesday 29th October, promising half-term fun for all the family. The full cast includes Samantha Palin; Mia Molloy; James Lacey; Lewis Devine; Shameless' Warren Donnelly; Abigail Middleton and St Helens' resident Dame Si Foster.


Samantha Palin will be transformed into the evil fairy Carabosse, who curses Princess Aurora - tricking her into an eternal slumber. Samantha previously played the Fairy Godmother in the 2018's Easter production of Cinderella. Her other theatre credits include Cover Malevola in Snow White at Kings Theatre and Gloriana in Cinderella at Theatre Royal, Wakefield.

Mia Molloy makes a welcome return to the Theatre Royal stage as the Princess, cursed to fall asleep until a handsome suitor wakes her with true love's kiss. The multi-talented Liverpool local was last seen heading over the rainbow as Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz earlier this year. Mia's credits also include Liverbird Song - The Liverpool Blitz Musical at The Epstein Theatre and Our Day Out The Musical at Liverpool's Royal Court.

Starring as this year's handsome prince is Theatre Royal newcomer James Lacey whose dashing looks will no doubt cast a spell over St Helens. His previous credits include the UK tours of Shrek The Musical and The Sound of Music as well as the dance double for Richard Madden in Disney's 2015 blockbuster live-action remake of Cinderella.

The hilarious Lewis Devine will bring laughs-a-plenty to St Helens audiences as Chester the Jester. Lewis returns after taking audiences on a high-flying adventure as Peter Pan at Christmas and causing mayhem as French Frank in 2018's panto, Beauty and the Beast.

Shameless star Warren Donnelly returns to play the King. Most notable for playing Stan Waterman in the Channel 4 series, Warren is no stranger to the St Helens stage having previously played the King in 2017's production of Sleeping Beauty and Abanazer in 2016's Aladdin.

Abigail Middleton is certain to bring some magic to the show as Fairy Sparkle, who audiences may recognise as Tiger Lily from Peter Pan last Christmas.

Completing the line-up and ready to bring this enchanting tale to life is St Helens' resident Dame, Si Foster, bringing his slapstick fun and chaos to the stage as Dame Queenie.

Sleeping Beauty tells the enchanting tale of Princess Aurora, who is cursed by the evil fairy Carabosse, tricking her into an eternal slumber which can only be broken by a kiss from her true love.

Will the beautiful princess find her true love and be freed from the evil fairy's curse? What fate awaits the evil fairy? Set your alarms and get down to St Helens Theatre Royal this October for a truly magical adventure.

Chantelle Nolan, Theatre Manager said: "I am absolutely delighted to announce the full casting for Sleeping Beauty! We have lots of returning familiar faces that our audiences know and love, as well as some Theatre Royal newcomers who are guaranteed to put on a spectacular show! Tickets are on-sale now, so be sure to join us this October!"

For more information you can visit the St Helen's Theatre Royal website or their social media pages on the following channels:

Website - www.sthelenstheatreroyal.com
Facebook - www.facebook.com/St-Helens-Theatre-Royal
Twitter - @TheatreRoyalStH

Listing Details

Event - Regal Entertainments presents Sleeping Beauty
Dates - Saturday 19th October to Tuesday 29th October 2019
Times - Monday & Tuesday: 1pm / Friday: 1pm and 5pm / Saturday & Sunday 12pm and 5pm (no shows 21st to 24th October)
Tickets - From £13*

All prices are inclusive of a £1 per seat transaction fee. On-line bookings are subject to an additional 50p per seat on-line processing fee.

Tickets can be booked in person at the Theatre Royal Box Office, Corporation Street, St. Helens, Merseyside, WA10 1LQ (Mon-Sat 10am - 5pm). Alternatively, call 01744 756000 or log on to www.sthelenstheatreroyal.com.

Disclaimer: This post is written based on a press release provided by BEA. All details provided believed to be correct at the time of writing, but are subject to change. I would therefore always recommend visiting the venue's own website in order to obtain the most up to date information.

Thursday, 5 September 2019

Preview - The Snowman Tour 2019 comes to Chester Cathedral

As much as I love the summer holidays, I cannot help but get excited when it comes to the Autumn season and my thoughts quickly turn to the excitement of Christmas. My family and I love to attend various shows and events to get into the festive spirit and last year we experienced the beautiful Snowman Tour from Carrot Productions, which was really special.

My children and I always watch The Snowman on Christmas Eve every year and it has become one of our firm family traditions that we all really enjoy. However, watching the show accompanied by a live orchestra creates a whole new magical element to this Christmas classic and we were therefore delighted to hear that The Snowman Tour will be returning for 2019.

Tickets are sure to sell fast at venues across the country for Carrot Productions' presentation of the iconic film The Snowman accompanied by a live orchestra. Parents who are keen to treat their children to this magical show are advised to start thinking about it now to avoid disappointment

This is the seventh annual tour by Carrot Productions, the most prolific performers of The Snowman film with live orchestra in the world. The cathedrals of Salisbury, Coventry, Winchester, Chester, Lichfield, Liverpool and Ely are among the thirteen venues across the country welcoming the production, adding stunning surroundings to the whole experience.

© Tom Bangbala

We are very excited to be attending the Chester Cathedral venue this year, when it visits the beautiful city of Chester on the 20th and 21st December for six shows. We are also very happy to be part of the blogger team once again for this very special tour.

Chester Cathedral is located in the heart of the city and is therefore easily accessible by public transport. There are also numerous pay and display car parks within walking distance from the venue.

Visitors to the Chester performances will also be treated to the enchanting animation by Tom Scott to accompany that most Christmassy of seasonal pieces, The Nutcracker. My youngest son Riley was absolutely mesmerised by last years animation, in what was his first experience of a live orchestra, so I know that he will absolutely love watching this.

The Snowman Experience offers much more than a viewing of the beloved movie, itself made extra vivid by the presence of live musicians: a professional orchestra and a young soloist performing the famous Walking in the Air song.

Other key elements which make these Carrot Productions events so popular with parents include:
  • The orchestra drawn from some of the top musicians in the country, many of whom are members of such orchestras as The Halle and the BBC Philarmonic
  • Every performance features a young soloist local to the area, singing the haunting Walking in the Air solo which lies at the heart of the Snowman. Auditions are held in the Autumn, with local Music Hubs and Cathedral Choirmasters helping to find suitable soloists to take up this superb performance opportunity.
  • A rousing Christmas overture
  • A fun introduction to the orchestra
  • A visit from the organisation's very own snowman!
Tickets are expected to sell out fast, so for further information or tour details then please visit www.carrotproductions.com.

© Gareth Widdowson

If Chester Cathedral is a little too far for you to travel, then don't worry, as this magical experience is visiting 13 venues throughout the country in Derby, Chesterfield, Salisbury, Coventry, Buxton, Beverley Minster, Salford, Winchester, Bradford, Chester, Lichfield, Liverpool and Ely. A full list of all the tour dates and venues can be found here.

Each venue will feature a second animation, specially commissioned by Carrot Productions and audiences will be treated to one of three films: A Donkey's Tale a heart-warming story of Dillon the Donkey, an ordinary donkey with an extraordinary dream that takes him on a journey that will change his life which has been specially written and composed by Daniel Whibley; The Bear and the Piano, an exclusive animated film based on the award-winning book by David Litchfield with narration recorded by Joanna Lumley and music by Daniel Whibley which has become a family favourite for the next generation; or the most Christmassy of seasonal pieces, The Nutcracker, brought to life by Tom Scott's mesmerising animated film. The full tour listings here will advise which animation is being shown at your chosen venue.

If you would like to get a feeling for The Snowman Tour, then please watch the video below.


*Disclaimer: We are being given 4 complimentary tickets for the purpose of providing an honest review of the tour later this year. All opinions are my own. Details provided are believed to be correct at the time of writing, but are subject to change. I would therefore always recommend visiting the companies own website in order to obtain the most up to date information.

Monday, 5 August 2019

Planning Our Trip to Brittany with Al Fresco Holidays - Preview

If you are a regular visitor to the blog, then you will know of our love for family holidays. For the past few years we have teamed up with Al Fresco Holidays to check out some of their fantastic holiday parks across Europe, creating many special memories along the way. So far we have visited Sanguli in Spain, La Croix du Vieux Pont in France and Portofelice in Italy, experiencing a wonderful fun-filled time at each destination.

This year we have already returned to Portofelice twice in both May and July after falling in love with the park last year, but we shall shortly be visiting somewhere new and travelling on an overnight ferry to stay at Domaine Des Ormes, located in Brittany. This will be a new adventure for all of us, having never travelled on an overnight ferry previously, so although we are a little nervous about what the cabins will be like, we are also really excited to be trying something a little out of our comfort zone in terms of transport.

One of my favourite things to do when visiting somewhere new, is to plan and research. I love finding out about the area, the must-see places to visit and finding affordable family restaurants. I like to be prepared as much as possible, so I will also try and find out the prices of any nearby activities so that we can also set a realistic budget for our holiday.

Image kindly provided by Al Fresco Holidays
Getting to Domaine Des Ormes is going to take us approximately one full day so we need to ensure that we have everything sorted for our journey. We are planning on setting off from our home at 5am to make the 4.5 hour journey to Portsmouth, planning to reach there for approximately 11am allowing for some rest breaks along the way. Our ferry crossing isn't until later that evening, so we are planning on visiting some tourist attractions throughout the day (though we are currently undecided on which ones) in order to tire us all out so that we can sleep on the boat.

Our overnight journey will then see us travel onboard an overnight ferry from Portsmouth to St Malo, arriving early at around 6am, with disembarkation commencing at 8am. It is our plan at the moment to drive straight to the site which is approximately 40 minutes away from the port, so that we can get our bearings and make use of the on-site facilities for our first day, before being able to check in to our accommodation at 4pm.

We are taking our own vehicle, so we need to ensure that we have everything that we need to comply with French regulations, this includes both documents and kit so I have began to get everything together. In terms of paperwork it is compulsory to have your driving licence, V5 document and vehicle insurance. Whilst breakdown cover isn't essential, I would never leave home without it especially when travelling abroad, so I have double checked that our existing policy covers us in France and would always recommend taking this out before starting your journey as it could save you a lot of hassle (and money) should you be unfortunate enough to break down.

There are other items of kit which are also compulsory and these include a GB sticker, warning triangle, reflective jacket (enough for all passengers in the vehicle), headlamp adjustment stickers and a breathalyser.

The site of Domaine Des Ormes looks absolutely incredible. They have recently released a new app called Les Ormes which provides so much information on all the activities available, along with a handy map, restaurant menus and entertainment times. I love handy tools like this as it really helps with the planning, especially when it comes to budgeting for activities.

Image kindly provided by Al Fresco Holidays
My children have already had a good look through the choices available and each of them have made a small list which details which activities they would like to try. Emma is really keen to have a go at wakeboarding, as well as a try on the zipline, whilst Riley is looking forward to having a pony ride and enjoying the kids disco. Ben has said that he would like to try the Escape game and archery, in addition to having some fun on the slip and slide. It certainly seems like there is going to be plenty to keep them occupied and it is great that they have already began to get excited about trying new things.

We also joined a facebook group which is packed full of handy tips and advice from previous guests. There have been numerous recommendations for the late evening sound and light show, which takes place on the Chateau of the Domaine. There is also a family fireworks show on selected dates, so we are hoping that one will be taking place during our visit.

One thing that the facebook group has been particularly useful for, is finding out more about places to visit in the area and family friendly attractions. It has been great to read about other people's experiences and learn more about the must-see sights in the area. We have been told that St Malo itself is a beautiful place, along with Mont St Michael which looks stunning in some of the photographs we have seen.

One of our favourite activities to do whilst on holiday is enjoy some swimming, so we were delighted to follow the progress of a new Dome which has been built over the existing swimming complex. We have watched this develop on the Domaine Des Ormes facebook page over the past few months and I will be honest when I say it looks absolutely incredible! As well as swimming pools, there is a wave pool, lazy river ride and water slides, so we are guaranteed to have an action-packed week of fun.

Image kindly provided by Al Fresco Holidays
In terms of accommodation, we will be staying in one of the Al Fresco Holidays Vivaldi Lounge Mobile Homes. These are three bedroomed mobile homes, which means that there will be plenty of space for all of us. They also have a nice decking area and outdoor seating, so we will be able to make the most of the Al Fresco experience. We have always found the Al Fresco mobile homes very clean, tidy and well equipped with everything we need for our stay, which is just what you need after a long journey.

Overall we are now beginning to get really excited for our upcoming holiday and we cannot wait to share our review of our Al Fresco Holiday to Domaine Des Ormes in a few weeks. Please be sure to follow us on our social media pages, as we will be posting plenty of images during our stay (wifi permitting). Our social media can be found on the following channels:

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/itsafamilyadventure/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/itsafamilyblog

You can also learn more about Al Fresco Holidays by visiting their website or social media pages which can be found on the following channels:

Website - https://www.alfresco-holidays.com/ where you can find some superb deals on family holidays.
Twitter - https://twitter.com/AlFrescoHols
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/alfrescoholidays
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/alfresco_hols/

Image kindly provided by Al Fresco Holidays
*Disclaimer - We will be visiting Domaine Des Ormes on a press trip, for the purpose of writing an honest review of the park and our experience. This means that our accommodation and transport has been arranged for us, however all food, attractions and activities will be paid for by ourselves.

Sunday, 5 May 2019

The BBC Summer Social is Coming to Liverpool - 3rd & 4th August 2019!

The BBC Summer Social is returning to Croxteth Country Park in Liverpool on the 3rd and 4th August with a superb line-up that is sure to make the event bigger and better than ever before! It is set to showcase some incredible musical acts along with some of the very best BBC, CBBC and CBeebies talent, as well as providing a whole host of indoor and outdoor activities.

BBC Summer Social has recently announced a second wave of artists that will be appearing on the Saturday at the BBC's biggest family festival which includes Pixie Lott, Rak-Su, New Hope Club, Four of Diamonds, The Horrible Histories Movie Screening and more. These acts will join the already announced Busted, John Newman, Nina Nesbitt and Freya Ridings, along with dancing sensations The Next Step and Merseygirls.

Saturday will also welcome Max & Harvey, in addition to some big names from the world of Instagram and Tik Tok including Amelia Gething, Lewys Ball, Holly H and Rosie McClelland.

Joining CBeebies Superstar Mr Tumble on Sunday, a great selection of CBBC and CBeebies presenters will take to the main stage to host non-stop fun for all the family across both days. Presenters include Sam Nixon, Yasmin Evans, Jonny Nelson, Hacker T Dog, Lauren Layfield, Karim Zeroual, Rhys Stephenson, Lyndsey Russell, Naomi Wilkinson, Rebecca Keatley, Fern and Rory, Cat Sandion, Katy Ashworth, Ben Cajee, Maddie Moate and Dodge.

In addition to these wonderful acts, visitors will also be able to discover immersive activity zones, theatre shows, interactive and inspiring workshops, a spectacular range of outdoor and indoor activities and live appearances from the most popular children's authors.


Alice Webb, Director, BBC Children's said: "We are so excited to announce more acts to our already bursting line-up of music artists and BBC stars. As we celebrate the return of the BBC Summer Social to Liverpool for our second year, we are confident that 2019 will be bigger and better than ever."

The BBC Summer Social is a fantastic day out for the whole family and tickets are now on sale for this great event priced at £23.50 per person plus a £1.50 booking fee (free for Under 2's). Tickets include all activities, rides and performances at the festival.

Further information on the BBC Summer Social can be found on their website and social media pages which are located on the following channels:

Website - bbc.co.uk/summersocial
Facebook - facebook.com/BBCSummerSocial
Twitter - @BBCSummerSocial
Instagram - @BBCSummerSocial


*Disclaimer - This post has been written based on a provided press release.

Wednesday, 27 March 2019

Zog Flies Into Storyhouse, Chester from the 5th-7th April 2019 - Preview

My family and I are huge fans of books written by Julia Donaldson and all three of my children have grown up enjoying her wonderful stories of fun and adventure. We were therefore really excited to learn more about the hotly anticipated family stage show of Zog, which will be flying into Storyhouse in Chester, next week!

Tickets are on sale now for this wonderful production of Zog, which is based on the book by Julia Donaldson with illustrations by Axel Scheffler. The show is currently embarking on a UK tour, which started earlier this month in Leeds and it will be at Storyhouse from Friday 5th of April to Sunday 7th April for a total of six performances.


The stage adaptation of the book is suitable for children and families of all ages. It will tell the story of Zog who is large in size and very keen in nature. He is eager to win a golden star at Madam Dragon's school, where dragons learn all the things that dragons need to know. Zog tries so very hard, perhaps too hard, and he bumps, burns and roars his way through years one, two and three. Luckily, the plucky Princess Pearl patches him up ready to face his biggest challenge yet.....a duel with a knight, Sir Gadabout the Great!

The world of Zog will be brought to life on stage by a skilled team of actor-puppeteers, using handcrafted puppets that have been designed and created by Little Angel Theatre co-founder Lyndie Wright. It is adapted and directed by Mike Shepherd (founder and artistic director of Kneehigh), with an original folk score by Johnny Flynn (currently starring in True West in the West End), and designs by Katie Sykes (Jane Eyre at the National Theatre).

Photo credit: Helen Maybanks

The cast features Elliot Mackenzie (professional debut) as Zog; Emily Benjamin (Bat Out Of Hell) as Princess Pearl; Robert Ginty (Salome and Coriolanus, Royal Shakespeare Company) as Sir Gadabout the Great; Euan Wilson (Stick Man, UK Tour) as Madame Dragon; and Dixie McDevitt  (National Youth Theatre alumni) as Ensemble.

Zog is produced by Freckle Productions and Rose Theatre Kingston. Freckle Productions' most recent show is Tabby McTat, an adaptation of the book by Julia Donaldson, following their acclaimed productions of Tiddler and Other Terrific Tales and Stick Man.

Completing the creative team are movement director Tom Jackson Greaves (Billionaire Boy, UK Tour), lighting designer Ric Mountjoy (The Play that Goes Wrong), sound designer Julian Starr (Violet, Charing Cross Theatre), puppet designer Lyndie Wright (Little Angel Theatre), puppet director Sarah Wright (Kneehigh's Brief Encounter), and movement and circus consultant Tina Koch.

Tickets for this wonderful production are on sale now, priced at £16 for adults and £14 for children. Each ticket is also subject to a booking fee of £1.50. Group rates are also available.

Photo credit: Helen Maybanks

Listing Details

Show: Zog
Venue: Storyhouse, Hunter Street, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 2AR
Dates: Friday 5th April to Sunday 7th April 2019
Times: Friday 5th April - 4:30pm / Saturday 6th April - 11am, 2pm, 4pm / Sunday 7th April 11am, 2pm.
Tickets: Adults £16 / Children £14 - each ticket is subject to a £1.50 booking fee / Group 10+ £12.50 each.
Duration - Approximately 1 hour.
Booking: This can be done online at www.storyhouse.com, by calling 01244 409113 or by visiting the ticket kiosks at Storyhouse, Hunter Street, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 2AR

For further details you can visit the Storyhouse website, or their social media pages on the following channels:

Website - www.storyhouse.com
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/storyhouselive
Twitter - @storyhouselive
Instagram - @storyhouselive

Photo credit: Helen Maybanks

*Disclaimer - This post has been written based on a press release provided by BEA.

Wednesday, 12 September 2018

Preview - Cinderella Pantomime at the Manchester Opera House - December 2018

Last Christmas we visited the Manchester Opera House, to see what my son described as 'The Most Epic Pantomime Ever" referring to Dick Whittington starring John Barrowman and The Krankies. It was one of the highlights for us of the festive period and we loved the show so much that we actually went to see it TWICE! Laden with special effects, comedy and plenty of laughter, it was no surprise to hear that it won the Special Entertainment category in the Manchester Theatre Awards.

When we left the show on the second occasion, we actually spotted some posters advertising this years pantomime of Cinderella. No cast had been announced at that time with it being so far in advance, but it certainly got us thinking as to who could be starring as the Handsome Prince or the Ugly Sisters and whether it could offer the same panto magic that John Barrowman and The Krankies had brought to the stage. Well I am very pleased to say that this years casting does not disappoint!

Cinderella is set to be the Fairy Godmother of all pantomimes and will be playing at the Manchester Opera House from the 8th December to the 30th December 2018. Earlier this year, they announced the first stars to be joining the line-up in what I consider to be sheer brilliance in role choice. The Ugly Sisters will be played by two television icons who are most recently known for their appearance on ITV's Manchester based soap Coronation Street......Connor McIntyre and Les Dennis!


Connor McIntyre recently starred as the ultimate villain on ITV's Coronation Street and quickly rose to fame as Pat Phelan. His evil antics and high-profile storylines quickly established him as one of soap-lands ultimate baddies. Other television credits include The Governer, A&E, Murder City, See No Evil, Wire in the Blood, Law and Order, London's Burning and Casualty with his film roles including The Be All and End All and Charlie Noads R.I.P. He is also no stranger to the stage and has appeared in The Comedy of Errors, One for the Road and Harry's Christmas.

Les Dennis is known for his presenting, comedy and acting, having being a firm family entertainment favourite since rising to fame on the 1974 talent show New Faces. He has had success in prime-time shows such as The Laughter Show and Family Fortunes, having hosted the latter for an incredible 15 years! Other film and television credits include Intimate Relations, Brookside, Hotel Babylon, Merseybeat, Extra's and Life's Too Short. In 2014 he joined the cast of Coronation Street initially as a petty criminal, but won the heart of both Gail Platt and the viewing audience, before his demise at the hands of fellow Ugly Sister Pat Phelan! His theatre work has included roles in Chicago, Spamalot, She Loves Me and Me and My Girl in the West End, as well as UK tours of Art, High School Musical, Hairspray, Legally Blonde and most recently playing the much-loved Uncle Fester in The Addams Family.


It has also been revealed, that stepping into the role of the handsome Prince Charming, will be the wonderfully talented Gareth Gates, who first rose to fame in 2002 as the runner-up on TV talent show Pop Idol. He has since sold an incredible 3.5 million records in the UK, released three albums and had four UK number one singles. Last year Gareth also opened his new performing arts school in Salford Quays called Fates Academy.

Gareth has appeared in theatre productions, which has seen him play Marius in the 25th anniversary tour of Les Miserables for Sir Cameron Mackintosh, as well as roles in Loserville at West Yorkshire Playhouse and the UK tours of Legally Blonde, Boogie Nights the Musical and Footloose. He has also regularly toured in the concert Mad About the Musicals. Gareth has also appeared on ITV's Dancing on Ice and The Big Reunion.

Michael Harrison, managing director of Qdos Entertainment said: "I'm absolutely delighted that Gareth Gates has agreed to bring his singing talent to our Manchester pantomime this Christmas. I'm sure Gareth will be the perfect ally for Cinderella as she battles the formidable Connor McIntyre and Les Dennis in the guise of her ugly step sisters."

Sheena Wrigley, Theatre Director for the Palace Theatre and Opera House, added "As well as being a terrific singer, Gareth has built an impressive theatre career and also has a great affinity to Manchester, having opened his performing arts academy in Salford Quays last year. He is a fantastic addition to our cast, alongside the previously announced Connor McInyre and Les Dennis, and we're excited to present another high-quality production to our audiences this Christmas."

Further casting is to be announced.

Cinderella will once again be produced by Qdos Entertainment, the world's biggest pantomime producer, with a production that is sure to delight and entertain audiences of all ages. Listing details and information regarding tickets can be found below.

Listing Details

Show - Cinderella
Dates - Saturday 8th December to Sunday 30th December
Times - Performance times vary, so please visit the ATG Tickets website for the most up to date information.
Ticket prices - From £12 (transaction fee will also apply)
Address - Opera House Manchester, 3 Quay Street, Manchester, M3 3HP
Box Office - 0844 871 3018 or for group bookings 0333 009 5390
Website - www.atgtickets.com/Manchester



*Disclaimer: This post contains an affiliate link, which means that I may receive a small commission, should you choose to purchase from this retailer.

Tuesday, 16 January 2018

Dates for your Diary - Jack & the Beanstalk at The Epstein Theatre starring Ray Quinn

Fe-fi-fo-fum - get ready for some panto fun! This GIANT panto will be coming to the Epstein Theatre in Liverpool this Easter and LHK productions have now announced that Liverpool's very own Ray Quinn, will be leading the all-star cast.

This egg-cellent production will be scaling new heights at The Epstein Theatre from Thursday 29th March to Sunday 8th April and tickets are on-sale now. With a beanstalk reaching the heavens, golden geese and hungry giants, this show really is too big to miss.

Ray is a multi-talented singer, dancer and actor, who first came to attention in 2000 playing Anthony Murray on Channel 4's Brookside, and won the hearts of the nation in 2006 on ITV's The X Factor where he went all the way to the final, finishing runner-up. Following the success of The X-Factor, Ray's debut album Doing It My Way entered the charts at number 1, selling over 300,000 copies without even releasing a single.

He then skated to victory not once, but twice on the ITV show Dancing on Ice as Series 4 champion in 2009, and then again on the All Stars series in 2014. Ray is also no stranger to the theatre stage, having appeared in some of the biggest hit shows, including Grease, Dirty Dancing and Legally Blonde. Most recently he starred as Glen, in the UK tour of the smash hit musical The Wedding Singer.

On joining the cast, Ray Quinn said: "I am absolutely thrilled to be coming home to Liverpool and appearing on The Epstein stage. There is no better feeling than playing to an audience in your home town! Panto is great fun, I always have a great time and I can't wait to be back. I'll see you at Easter Liverpool!"

LHK Productions Managing Director Lee Kelly added: We are delighted to have cast Ray as Jack for our Easter panto. He is a local lad, audiences from Liverpool know and love him! He is a true professional, and has appeared in some of the UK's biggest stage shows, so I know he will be a great addition to the show!"

The full cast who will be joining Ray to tell this epic tale will be announced in the coming months, so watch this space!

Important Note: Ray Quinn will not be appearing in the show on the 6th,7th & 8th of April.

Listing Details

Show - Jack and the Beanstalk
Dates - Thursday 29th March to Sunday 8th April
Times - Performance times vary so please visit The Epstein Theatre website for further details.
Venue - The Epstein Theatre, Hanover House, 85 Hanover Street, Liverpool, L1 3DZ

Tickets - Adults £16.50 / Concessions £15.50 / Family £54
Groups - £14 each and 1 in 15 free.
There are also a limited amount of £11 tickets available on select performances.
*Subject to booking fee. All prices include a £1 per ticket venue restoration levy.

Box Office - 0844 888 4411
Website - www.epsteinliverpool.co.uk

Tickets can also be booked in person at the theatre box office (open 2pm-6pm Mon-Thu & 12pm-6pm Fri-Sat)

Alternatively you can book tickets via TicketQuarter by calling 0844 8000 410 or visit www.ticketquarter.co.uk.

Sunday, 12 March 2017

The Tiger Who Came to Tea - Epstein Theatre Preview & Competition

My children are huge fans of books, and they all have their own treasured stories that they enjoy to read again and again. Some stories however span several generations, and books that were once my favourite as a child, are now also popular with my own children, which is really lovely to see.

A prime example of this is the wonderful tale of The Tiger Who Came to Tea, which has been a firm family favourite in our household, and I was very pleased to hear, that this lovely story has been adapted into a musical play that is embarking on a major UK tour.

The truly magical Olivier Award nominated West End production opens on Thursday 30th March at the Epstein Theatre, Liverpool for a three day run. It has been adapted and directed by David Wood OBE, and Judith Kerr's ever popular tale, The Tiger Who Came to Tea, is the ideal introduction to theatre for children aged three plus and the perfect treat for the whole family.

Illustrations copyright © Kerr-Kneale Productions Ltd 1968

When Sophie and her Mummy welcome the hungry Tiger to Tea, he proceeds to eat all the sandwiches, buns, biscuits and more. He even manages to drink all the water in the tap! What will Sophie's Daddy say when he gets home?

The doorbell rings just as Sophie and her Mummy are sitting down to tea. Who could it possibly be?
What they certainly don’t expect to see at the door is a big furry, stripy tiger!

Join the Tiger, Sophie, and her Mummy and Daddy, in this musical slice of teatime mayhem with sing-a-long songs, oodles of magic, and interactive fun.

David Wood is undisputedly the country’s leading writer and director of plays and musicals for children, whose many successes include: The Gingerbread Man, Guess How Much I Love You, eight Roald Dahl adaptations including West End hits The BFG, The Witches and George’s Marvellous Medicine; and the Olivier Award winning Goodnight Mister Tom.

If you would love to take the opportunity to see this wonderful production then the listing details are as follows:

The Tiger Who Came to Tea
Venue: The Epstein Theatre, Hanover House, 85 Hanover Street, Liverpool, L1 3DZ
Dates: Thursday 30th March to Saturday 1st April
Performance Times: Thursday 1:30pm, Friday 10:30am & 1:30pm, Saturday 11am & 2pm.

Ticket prices: £13.50 per ticket, or £11 per ticket for groups of 10+. All prices include a £1 per ticket venue restoration levy.

Box Office: 0844 888 4411

The show has a running time of 55 minutes with no interval, and is recommended as being suitable for children age 3+.

A trailer for the show can also be found here: www.TigersTeaLive.com

Competition
To celebrate The Tiger Who Came to Tea production visiting the Epstein Theatre in Liverpool on the 30th March to 1st April, I have one copy of the book to give away to a lucky reader. Please enter using the Gleam form below:

The Tiger Who Came to Tea Book Competition

Terms and Conditions: 1 (One) person shall be selected at random from all entries to win 1 (One) copy of The Tiger Who Came to Tea book. This shall be sent directly to the winner from the promoter. Please allow up to 28 days for delivery. Open to UK entrants only. No bulk/third party entries. Competition closes on Friday 24th March and the winner shall be notified within 3 days of competition closing date. The winner will then have 14 days to reply to the winning notification to confirm acceptance of the prize.

Illustrations copyright © Kerr-Kneale Productions Ltd 1968